Po Faced Prose.

Po–faced
adjective \ˈpō-ˌfāst\
: having a serious expression on the face
: too serious
Full Definition of PO-FACED
British
: having an assumed solemn, serious, or earnest expression or manner : piously or hypocritically solemn
Origin of PO-FACED
perhaps from po chamber pot, toilet, from French pot pot
First Known Use: 1934

I was at a family wedding recently, and as always there was one person who played the amiable fool that would degenerate to the drunken pain in the arse. Everyone who knew him steered well clear once he started to drink. My sister and I didn’t have this pre-knowledge and in the corner he trapped us in, he peered intently at me saying, ‘you’re the serious sister aren’t you’
Tedious repetitive bar talk aside, this is something I have heard, many many times in my life.
I was a quiet and serious child, who grew into a serious adult. When I moved to England I had a helluva time grasping the British humour that centred around the ‘wind up’ and my blank face whilst everyone else was erupting in laughter only cemented this role as ‘the serious one’
What promoted this particular blog was my reading through past posts and thinking, ‘shit, these are all a little intense aren’t they?’.
Well I am not just serious, but also introspective and over analytical. Sometimes I think I should go on anti depressants so I can laugh at the same jokes as everyone else and not experience life so deeply.
Street drugs helped, but they are out of my life equation and have been for a long, long while.
Smoking dope was particularly good but a combination of my addictive ways plus the introduction of skunk into the cannabis sphere, added a psychotic rather than a relaxing element for me.
The best way for me to lighten up is actually to be around people on a similar wavelength.
Yeah I get serious around idiots; clam up, shut down and become po faced.
Why medicate who I am, so I can be more acceptable to people I would rather not mix with.
The irony is I can be very, very funny. Funny to the point that I have been asked on various occasions if I would be interested in doing stand up comedy.
However these madly comedic episodes in my life have also generally been the times where I have been mentally more over the place than a mad woman’s shit, and in a very dark place.
It is actually easier to write in a light hearted manner, if I am being nasty.
When I was doing a lot of reviewing work, I found the words just flowed when I was ripping something to pieces, which I tried to avoid doing unless very provoked or very offended.
Anyway.
I haven’t managed to write a light hearted blog, but at least it is a blog about being light hearted.

About charlottejane2002

Author of 'P is for Prostitution', 'The Bloody Sacrifice' and co-editor of 'A Contemporary Western Book of the Dead' which are all published by Mandrake of Oxford. Italian publisher Roberto Migliussi has recently released 'The Sky is a Gateway, Not a Ceiling', a book of Charlotte's collected essays printed alongside images of his own art work. Charlotte is also an artist who creates spiritually directed art works from road kill and found objects. She has had her written work printed in anthologies and various magazines and on line publications and has given presentations at many events and institutions including Edinburgh University and Brooklyn's 'Museum of Morbid Anatomy'. Her art work has been exhibited widely including at London's Chelsea Gallery and The Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institute, and is soon to be shown in New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Po Faced Prose.

  1. Russell Duffy says:

    I think I am both the amiable fool who over compensates for his shyness by acting, trying to anyway, like Spike Milligan, or, as more often is these days, so introspective I could watch my own faeces form.

Leave a Reply

