The Road Less Traveled.

On the 6th February, it will be 18 years since I stopped being an active heroin addict.

Eighteen years since I was admitted into a rehab, after overdosing in a hotel room in Brands Hatch.

Yesterday Philip Seymour Hoffman was found dead, in a bathroom, needle in arm, after 22 years sobriety.

A well spoken, incredibly gifted middle aged man, with money and a respectable reputation.

He chose not to drink himself to death, nor to use a more discrete and no doubt very easily obtained, prescription opiate.

He chose to score smack, a nasty, dirty street drug. He didn’t snort or chase the heroin, but injected it, a method of drug use which is an addiction in itself.

Whilst newsfeeds show the ‘before’ image of a talented man, and the ‘after’ image, of a body bag, I listen to people with a past like my own feeling sad, but alerted to how easy it is to return to addiction. I also listen to those with a different past, simply wondering ‘why?’

I feel sadness, empathy and strangely enough the stirring of a craving.

Mainstream life no matter how creative the sphere, even with solid trappings of home, marriage, success and children, is still an unknown quantity.

Heroin addiction isn’t unknown. You are assured where it leads to. You find something that envelopes and protects you whilst abusing you. Gradually everything falls away except that one, dirty, intimate relationship.

Some of us hold onto credentials of art and opiates championed by Burroughs, de Quincy, Trocchi and Richards. Ignoring the abscesses, bad hits and constant obsession to find brief moments of orgasm, followed by a comfortable distant drift.

I loved opiates. I loved the effects of them; the rituals around their acquisition and consumption and the violence and instant gratification injecting provided. More subtly, I loved the way that my passivity was suddenly actively involved in such a huge social and personal rebellion.

I had originally intended this blog to be about the conundrum of growing up and what rites of passage lead to that epiphany (or in my case are still leading there).

I had been on my way to work on Monday and was staring into the mirror prior to leaving the house, checking that my outdoor persona was in place.

As I looked at myself, I realised  with a strength of conviction that I hadn’t experienced around having children, being married, or even stopping drinking and using drugs; I didn’t want this mainstream life, I didn’t want to play the game.

As with the premise of The HBO series ‘The Wire’ where it is ‘all in the game’, I need to find a balance. Be true to my own individuality and sense of rebellion enough to not feel as if I am going to explode with a rage that can only be diluted through I.V’ed self destruction…even though one would think by 48 my insecurity, loneliness and anger would have long ago dissipated.

 Hoffman’s tragic death, the like of which I have seen far too many of: show that being part of the establishment, part of the game, walkers on the straight path, is all too easily, temporary and illusory.

 Philip Seymour Hoffman, and other victims of a sad and too early death, I hope you and your families eventually find peace.

 

About charlottejane2002

Author of 'P is for Prostitution', 'The Bloody Sacrifice' and co-editor of 'A Contemporary Western Book of the Dead' which are all published by Mandrake of Oxford. Italian publisher Roberto Migliussi has recently released 'The Sky is a Gateway, Not a Ceiling', a book of Charlotte's collected essays printed alongside images of his own art work. Charlotte is also an artist who creates spiritually directed art works from road kill and found objects. She has had her written work printed in anthologies and various magazines and on line publications and has given presentations at many events and institutions including Edinburgh University and Brooklyn's 'Museum of Morbid Anatomy'. Her art work has been exhibited widely including at London's Chelsea Gallery and The Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institute, and is soon to be shown in New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Road Less Traveled.

  1. Russell Duffy says:

    A poignant if stark reminder of how what is often perceived as cool is anything but. I feel for the family of Philip Seymour Hoffman as they now will face those who sit in judgement pontificating on the rights and wrongs of addiction as they ruminate over their Boeuf Bourguignon, as they sit down to another feast of beef. Addiction comes in many forms, some more subliminal than others. What was it that made such a talented man feel so hollow? Why would someone who had so much – success, a beautiful wife, beautiful children and a beautiful house, a regular Talking Head song given life, need something else, something more? Rather than point fingers at others whilst back slapping each other, perhaps we should examine instead the reasons behind such sad acts.
    It is your point about doing the mainstream that illustrates the point perfectly. Nothing wrong with living that lifestyle if that is what you want. I have. It suited me then. It doesn’t now. NowI feel cheated, compromised. Not because I disliked that life or my family, the reverse is true, but because we are ‘programmed’ to think in ways that suppresses our individual instincts whilst still being pack animals, processes our behaviour to fit neat, convenient types the better to feed the system we have created and which supports our lives. This sounds rather ‘hippyish’ and i am anything but a hippy yet still that confining, crushing process continues to pump us out, place us in roles we are ill suited to before condemning those who, if even moderately, bend the rules as social pariahs.. As I said, I feel sorry for the family but I also empathise with ,the man himself. x

  2. It is human nature to find answers and to judge; like most people, I’ve reacted according to my own experiences and present head space. The truth is no one can really know reasons behind someone’s actions. Sometimes there is no rationale, nor are there answers… especially when dealing with addiction.
    The only given in such a situation, is that there are people left behind who loved this man, and they will never fully recover from their loss.

Leave a Reply

