Chaos, Adventure, Travel and the Spaces In Between.

image.jpegSo I’m experiencing my first trip to New York and in time honoured, ‘make things more difficult for myself’ manner, I have added some extra stimulus.

I was asked to speak at ‘The Museum of Morbid Anatomy’ and accepted before I realised, hey, I have no money.

A mad scramble and my first attempt at an arts funding application paid off, and an a-n travel bursary ensured that my basic costs would be covered.

Still needing to travel however on a strict budget, I found cheaper accommodation in Newark, a place my obsession with the series ‘The Wire’ inadvertently acted as preparation for.

The host of the home my companion and I are staying in was welcoming and all the basics are covered; rodent repellant plugs are scattered liberally throughout the house, there is a working fridge next to the mouldy one, and the living room has two enormous TV’s with surround sound.

My travelling companion hasn’t brought her phone so her partner contacts her via WhatsApp on my phone. She regularly receives loving and supportive texts from her beloved while my paramour occasionally sends me a London weather report and images of his Soho indulgences.

All of these details aside, the city is amazing. It’s steaming hot, I’ve managed to instinctively negotiate the subway system though still creating a chaotic adventure out of every journey, and everything is a larger than life sensory overload that is art encapsulated.

About charlottejane2002

Author of 'P is for Prostitution', 'The Bloody Sacrifice' and co-editor of 'A Contemporary Western Book of the Dead' which are all published by Mandrake of Oxford. Italian publisher Roberto Migliussi has recently released 'The Sky is a Gateway, Not a Ceiling', a book of Charlotte's collected essays printed alongside images of his own art work. Charlotte is also an artist who creates spiritually directed art works from road kill and found objects. She has had her written work printed in anthologies and various magazines and on line publications and has given presentations at many events and institutions including Edinburgh University and Brooklyn's 'Museum of Morbid Anatomy'. Her art work has been exhibited widely including at London's Chelsea Gallery and The Bath Royal Literary and Scientific Institute, and is soon to be shown in New York.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chaos, Adventure, Travel and the Spaces In Between.

  1. diannebaker74 says:

    Haha ! The Wire… Yes I get that. Subway…. F train was my teacher.
    Oh please post more – I am in love with NY, the larger than my life here in NZ.
    Much love and take care Charlotte
    (When I hear your name, in my mind I have complete visual and aural recall of Marie calling you or talking of you. XX
    Much love and take good care 💕

Leave a Reply

